2007-8 Short Story Competition

Ellen Banda-Aaku of Zambia is the 2007-8 Commonwealth Short Story Competition winner. Her story ‘Sozi’s Box’ was selected as the best story from the Africa region of the Commonwealth and as the winning story from more than two thousand entries.

Twenty five other writers from across the Commonwealth have also won prizes in the 2007 competition.


Overall Winner and Regional Winner (Africa)
Sozi’s Box
Ellen Banda-Aaku (Zambia)

Regional Winner (Europe)
Days Are Long
Emily Pedder (UK)

Regional Winner (Australia and the Pacific)
Catherine Palmer (New Zealand)

Regional Winner (Canada & the Caribbean)
The Man with the Seahorse Head
Sarah Ceridwen Totton (Canada)

Regional Winner (Asia)
Where Do I Belong?
Hema S Raman (India)

Highly Commended

  • Trial By Water by Molara Wood (Nigeria)
  • Six Pack by Wame Molefhe (Botswana)
  • Never Put Your Hand in a Dog’s Mouth by Linda C Saunders (South Africa)
  • In Transit by Eunice Tan (Australia)
  • Heaven by Robert Carter (Australia)
  • Do Not Disturb by Bruce Riddell (Australia)
  • Zuka’s Gift by David Campbell (Australia)
  • The Passion Fruit by Paddy O’Reilly (Australia)
  • The Hook-Up by Ash Rehn (Australia)
  • The Last Ride by Ditta Sylvester (Jamaica)
  • The Village Voice by Katherine Atkinson (St. Lucia)
  • Scissors by Darryl Berger (Canada)
  • Melnyk Comes Home by Stewart Boston (Canada)
  • Kick by Carin Makuz (Canada)
  • Leaving by Donna Tremblay (Canada)
  • Arranged Marriage by Manasi Subramaniam (India)
  • A Win-Win Game by Aniruddha Sen (India)
  • A Good Night’s Work by Ashwini Gowariker (India)
  • Underneath the Sky by Rayika Choudri (Pakistan)
  • The Flying Carpet by Faye Davies (UK)
  • In Arms by Juliet O’Callaghan (UK)