CBA Board

The CBA Board is selected by voting that takes place at the CBA General Conference.

  • Moneeza Hashmi (President)
  • Gary Allen (Vice-President)
  • Albertus Aochamub (Vice-President)
  • Usha Bhasin
  • Nanise Fifita
  • Peter Horrocks
  • Mogomotsi Kaboeamodimo
  • Joyce Mhaville
  • Ladan Salihu Mohammed
  • David Sutton


Moneeza Hashmi

President, CBA and General Manager, International Relations, Hum TV, Pakistan

In 2013 Moneeza Hashmi was appointed Benazir Bhutto Chair, Lahore College for Women. She served as Director of Programmes at Pakistan Television for over four decades and is currently a consultant for Hum TV – in charge of their International Affairs Division. Moneeza has participated in national and international media forums where she has represented Pakistan. She was awarded the President of Pakistan’s Pride of Performance medal in 2002 for her professional expertise in the electronic media. Moneeza teaches MA and MPhil classes on TV production at colleges and universities in Pakistan. She also works as a trainer/consultant for international donor agencies such as Unicef, UNDP, GIZ, UNFPA, Action Aid and USAID, among others.

Gary Allen

Vice-President, CBA and Group Managing Director, RJR Communications Group

Gary Allen is a career media practitioner with more than 25 years experience in the Caribbean media. He is the Group Managing Director for the RJR Communications Group. Mr Allen has worked in print, radio and television in Jamaica and elsewhere in the Caribbean. He has worked for the Jamaica Gleaner newspaper, CVM Television, the Caribbean Broadcasting Union, the Caribbean News Agency and the Caribbean Media Corporation. Mr Allen is a past Vice-President of the journalist group at the Press Association of Jamaica and a past three-term chairman of the Media Association Jamaica Ltd (owners and managers).


Albertus Aochamub na

Vice-President, CBA and Director-General, NBC Namibia

Albertus Aochamub has been the Director-General (Editor-in-Chief and CEO) of the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation since August 2010, as appointed by the Cabinet of Namibia. He is also the President of the Southern African Broadcasters Association. Albertus has over 15 years executive management experience in broadcasting, telecommunications and banking. On the academic front, he holds Master’s from two UK universities: an MBA in International Marketing from the University of Sunderland and an MA (Hons) Management from the University of Glasgow.


Usha Bhasin

Board member, CBA and Channel Head, Art and Culture, Doordashan, India

Usha Bhasin has worked for India’s Public Service Broadcaster, Prasar Bharati, since 1975, when she joined All India Radio. In 1998 she started with the broadcaster’s TV arm, Doordarshan (DD). Prior to her current role, she was Additional Director-General of DD. Her pioneering work using broadcasting to promote social change has been awarded and recognised by several UN bodies and broadcasting organisations such as the Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development and the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union. Usha Bhasin has published two books on Public Service Broadcasting.


Nanise Fifita to

Board member, CBA and General Manager, Radio and TV Tonga

Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow Biography to follow

Peter Horrocks

Board Member, CBA and Director, BBC World Service Group

Peter Horrocks is responsible for leading the BBC’s international news services across radio, television and online. The division brings together BBC World Service, BBC Global News Ltd (which comprises the BBC World News Television Channel and, BBC Monitoring and BBC Media Action (the BBC’s international development charity). Before taking up his current role 2010, Peter was previously Director of BBC World Service.He has worked for the BBC since 1981, and has held senior management and editorial posts in television, radio and online.


Mogomotsi Kaboeamodimo bw

Board member, CBA and Deputy Permanent Secretary, Information and Broadcasting, Botswana

Biography to follow

Joyce Mhaville

Board member, CBA and Managing Director, ITV Independent Television Limited

Joyce Mhaville is a qualified and experienced news and current affairs reporter, producer and TV presenter. Ms Mhaville has worked with various newspapers in Tanzania as a reporter and photojournalist. She has also worked at the BBC World Service as stringer for Swahili and Russian Services. Ms Mhaville has served as Vice-President, CBA – 1998; Vice-President, Media Council of Tanzania and is a board member of the legal Human Rights Center; Chairperson, steering committee of the Africa Broadcast Media partnership on HIV/Aids. She is also a member of an organisation called Champions for an HIV-Free Generation, chaired by former president of Botswana, Festus Mogae.


Ladan Salihu Mohammed ng

Board member, CBA and Director-General, FRCN, Nigeria

Ladan Salihu Mohammed has been the head of the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) since February 2014. Mr Salihu was previously was the director of FRCN’s Kaduna zonal station. A seasoned broadcaster, he has been a correspondent at the Nigeria Television Authority, as well as a reporter for Voice of America’s Hausa language service.


David Sutton

Board member, CBA and Head of Strategic Policy, Corporate Affairs, ABC Australia

David Sutton is head of Strategic Policy in the ABC’s Corporate Affairs division. He has worked for the corporation for the past nine years in a range of corporate policy and strategy roles. David has a PhD in Philosophy from the University of Sydney. Prior to joining the ABC, he tutored and lectured in communications and media departments at several universities around Sydney and worked as the broadcasting adviser for the Australian Democrats.