2011 Thomson Foundation Journalist of the Year Award

The Thomson Foundation Journalist of the Year Award is for a television, radio or multimedia journalist who has show exceptional journalistic achievement between September 2009 and August 2010. The judges will be looking for an individual whose investigative reporting highlights the media’s position as the ‘Fourth Estate’ – that is to act as a guardian of the public interest. His or her work should be of a consistently high quality and demonstrate integrity, balance and fairness.


Samuel Agyemang, Reporter/Anchor
Metro TV (Ghana)

The judges said: “We were hugely impressed by Samuel’s determination to get to the heart of the story – in difficult and challenging circumstances. His reporting had evident impact, brought clear results, and showed courage and a social conscience. We want to commend him on his investigative skill and encourage him to persevere in setting the highest standards of journalism.”


Rob Walker, Broadcast Journalist

This award is sponsored by the Thomson Foundation